Thursday, 6 February 2014

The 1905 Gordon Bennett Cup motor race

M. Clementel, the cabinet minister in charge of the French colonies,
congratulates the winner.

The 1905 Gordon Bennett Cup was a major motor racing event held on 5 July on the Auvergne Circuit in France. The race, with 18 entries from six countries, was won by the French driver Léon Théry, who had been the winner already in the 1904 race.

Théry, who drove a 96 hp Richard-Brasier, drove the total distance of 549.4 km in seven hours, 2 minutes and 42seconds, an average speed of 77.85 km/h.

Two Italian entries, Felice Nazzarro and Allessandro Cagno, both driving FIATs, finished second and third. Charles Stewart Rolls, the co-founder of the Rolls-Royce car manufacturing company, who drove a Wolseley, was the best British entry. He finished eighth.

German favourite Camille Jenatzy did not finish the race.

German favourite Camille Jenatzy (Mercedes), who had won the race in 1903, disappointingly was not able to finish the race.

No comments:

Post a Comment